PROBLEM: Illegal Character in Log File Name (Windows)

Discuss new features and functions

intexx

The recent attention to the time portion of the log file name is appreciated, but the implementation has a problem. On the Windows platform, the colon (:) is an illegal character.

Request: Could you use a period (.) instead.

Thanks,
Jeff Bowman
Fairbanks, Alaska
Site Admin

Zenju

Did you actually try FFS and find an issue or is this just theoretical?

intexx

I've been using FFS for nearly five years now and I love it.

After closer examination, however, I find I must correct my original claim. The new character in the log files name is actually NOT a colon. It's U+02F8 on Windows' Character Map application.

Nevertheless, still it's causing trouble. It's not in the ANSI 1252 codepage and thus can't be interpreted by some text editors. Command line processing of the files is made more difficult, in some cases impossible.

All of these would be easily mitigated by simply using a period instead of the high-order character. It's a natural fit with the hyphens in the date portion of the timestamp.

[Sync 2015-02-12 05.14.51.log]

Thanks,
Jeff Bowman
Fairbanks, Alaska

bgregory01

I've been using FFS for nearly five years now and I love it.

After closer examination, however, I find I must correct my original claim. The new character in the log files name is actually NOT a colon. It's U+02F8 on Windows' Character Map application.

Nevertheless, still it's causing trouble. It's not in the ANSI 1252 codepage and thus can't be interpreted by some text editors. Command line processing of the files is made more difficult, in some cases impossible.

All of these would be easily mitigated by simply using a period instead of the high-order character. It's a natural fit with the hyphens in the date portion of the timestamp.

[Sync 2015-02-12 05.14.51.log]

Thanks,
Jeff Bowman
Fairbanks, Alaskaintexx