Am I stuck forever with FreeFileSync 13.3?

Discuss new features and functions

Widowsky

FreeFileSync 13.4 ignores leading/trailing space when matching file names, according to its release notes. I can hardly believe my eyes.

I constantly use leading spaces in file and folder names to prioritize them at the top of lists on macOS. I'm no coder nor developer and please people, don't patronize me telling what I should or shouldn't do.

Am I understanding correctly, and does this mean that I won't be able to update FreeFileSync?

bgstack15

Hm, perhaps that can be a feature request: to ignore trailing spaces with a checkbox in the settings dialog.

Widowsky

So we're not free to call our files and folders whatever we want?

That's so wrong, it's simply unacceptable.

Misguided idea to prevent so-called user errors should remain an option and certainly not be imposed on everyone. Users don't make mistakes, only developers do.

FreeFileSync is a file synchronizer; it's not a batch file renamer.

xCSxXenon

Users don't make mistakes
LOL I see you're one of "those users"

Using spaces as an organizational method is simply ill-advised and you shouldn't do it. You are literally locking yourself into a flawed way of doing things that is going to cause you problems later. But as you say, there's no law against making bad decisions ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

With that said:
You're misunderstanding the feature. FreeFileSync still treats these file names as different, but matches them as pairs after comparison. Zenju, 05 Mar 2024, 07:12
viewtopic.php?t=11134

Widowsky

Users don't make mistakes
LOL I see you're one of "those users"xCSxXenon, 21 Mar 2024, 14:11
What I meant, more precisely, is that users make mistakes, realize them, correct them, and learn from this process, thus becoming better users. If steps 2 to 4 cannot occur, it's not the user's fault.

Yes, this might be exactly what's happening to me right now, learning from a mistake.